Almost 180 years of experience
In 1841, New Zealand became a British colony, the first edition of Punch was published in London and the travel agent, Thomas Cook led the first privately chartered excursion train in England.
Meanwhile in Hull, in June of the same year, John Rollit, the son of a local cabinet-maker was admitted as a solicitor and taken into partnership by local solicitor William Dryden in a firm that became Dryden Sons and Rollit.
In 1850, he set up his own law firm at 62 Whitefriargate in Hull, becoming Rollit and Son when his son joined him in partnership in 1863.
In 1910, the firm's name changed to Rollit & Co, and further name changes occurred as others were taken into partnership: in 1916 to Rollit & Farrell and in 1934 to Rollit Farrell & Bladon. The name of the firm remained as Rollit Farrell & Bladon until 2001 when it changed to Rollits.
In 1990, Rollits opened an office in York city centre, moving out to Forsyth House, Monks Cross in April 2017.
On May 1, 2010, Rollits changed from a traditional law partnership to a Limited Liability Partnership with the name Rollits LLP.
The History of Rollits